Women in the Profession Committee


The Committee on Women in the Profession concerns itself with issues related to the careers and advancement of women in the practice of law in the Philadelphia area. It monitors existing conditions and trends, conducts special programs and makes recommendations that aid in the achievement of its goals, including but not limited to, the adoption of model employee policies and any amendments thereto. In addition, the Committee considers the impact on the profession of the increasing numbers of women attorneys.

To apply for Committee membership online, click here.


Regina M. Foley
Raynes McCarty
1845 Walnut Street
20th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19103
(215) 255-4438

Ourania Papademetriou
Philadelphia VIP, Inc.
1500 Walnut Street, Suite 400
Philadelphia, PA 19102
(215) 523-9550

2012 Sandra Day O’Connor Award Nomination Form

Stephanie Resnick Receives 2010 Sandra Day O’Connor Award

Stephanie Resnick, chair of the Litigation Department at Fox Rothschild LLP and chair of the Board of Governors of the Philadelphia Bar Association in 2008, received the Philadelphia Bar Association’s Sandra Day O'Connor Award at its' Quarterly Meeting and Luncheon on June 28 at the Hyatt at the Bellevue.

The award is conferred annually on a woman attorney who has demonstrated superior legal talent, achieved significant legal accomplishments and has furthered the advancement of women in both the profession and the community. The Women in the Profession Committee established the award in 1993 to recognize the important contributions that women attorneys in Philadelphia have made to the legal profession. The award presentation will be made during the June Quarterly Meeting.

Resnick served as chair of the Federal Courts Committee in 2004, the liaison between the federal bench and its practitioners. She was responsible for program planning, communication between the bench and bar on strategic initiatives, and professional development and education. In 1997, she served as chair of the Philadelphia Bar Association's Commission on Judicial Selection and Retention (Judicial Commission), having served as a member of the Commission from 1995 through 1998. From 1988 through 1994, she was a member of the Investigative Division of the Judicial Commission. In that role, she investigated the background of judicial candidates seeking election and reported those findings to the Judicial Commission.

Resnick was appointed trustee of the Campaign for Qualified Judges in 1996 and was also appointed by the then president judge of the Court of Common Pleas to the Task Force on Gender Fairness in the Courts. She also served as co-chair of the Women's Rights Committee, and as a member of the Professional Responsibility, Professional Guidance and Fee Disputes Committees.

The award has previously been presented to:

  • U.S. District Court Senior Judge Norma L. Shapiro
  • Juanita Kidd Stout, former justice of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court
  • Deborah R. Willig, first woman Chancellor of the Philadelphia Bar Association
  • Professor Marina Angel, of the Temple University Beasley School of Law
  • Third Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Dolores K. Sloviter (former Chief Judge)
  • U.S. District Court Judge Anita B. Brody
  • Leslie Anne Miller, first woman president of the Pennsylvania Bar Association
  • Lila G. Roomberg of Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP
  • Philadelphia Common Pleas Court Judge Judge Judith J. Jamison (posthumously)
  • Ellen T. Greenlee, chief defender of the Defender Association of Philadelphia
  • Philadelphia Bar Association Chancellor Audrey C. Talley
  • U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Marjorie O. Rendell
  • Former Pennsylvania Superior Court Judge Phyllis W. Beck
  • Roberta D. Pichini of Feldman, Shepherd, Wohlgelernter, Tanner, Weinstock & Dodig
  • Lynn A. Marks, executive director of Pennsylvanians for Modern Courts
  • Roberta D. Liebenberg of Fine, Kaplan and Black, R.P.C.
  • JoAnne Epps, dean of Temple University Beasley School of Law
  • Stephanie Resnick, partner at Fox Rothschild LLP

Board Adopts Call to Action and Best Practice Resolution

The Bar Association's Board of Governors adopted at its September 2007 meeting a Resolution endorsing the Call to Action and Best Practices for the Retention
and Promotion of Women Attorneys.