1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

January 12, 2009

FJD Pro Bono Awards Ceremony January 22

The First Judicial District of Pennsylvania will present its Third Annual FJD Pro Bono Publico Award to members of the bar who have provided exceptional pro bono service to the underprivileged on Thursday, Jan. 22 from 5 to 7 p.m., in the Alex Bonavitacola Law Library, 6th Floor, at City Hall.

This annual event created by the First Judicial District’s Pro Bono Committee, which was formed by members of the bench, bar and pro bono service providers to create and promote a culture of pro bono service in Philadelphia’s legal community.

The recipients of the Pro Bono Publico Award are nominated by the judges of each division of the FJD and selected by a committee of FJD judges and a Philadelphia Bar Association representative. The awards will be presented to each recipient by a judge of the division nominating that recipient. This year’s recipients are:

Common Pleas Court Trial Division – Civil: Henry M. Clinton, Kenneth J. Fleisher and Robert W. Claypole.

Common Pleas Court Trial Division – Criminal: Sondra R. Rodrigues and Charles “Chip” Junod.

Common Pleas Court Family Division – Domestic Relations: David N. Hofstein.

Common Pleas Court Family Division – Juvenile: Pamela Porter Ende.

Common Pleas Court Orphans’ Court Division: Suzanne Pritchard.

Municipal Court – Criminal: Joseph K. Kelly.

The awards ceremony will also recognize all attorneys on the Pro Bono Roll of Honor who have provided pro bono services to litigants in the Philadelphia Courts in 2008. The ceremony will include a presentation of certificates to these attorneys, along with lapel pins designed to signify their contributions. This year’s ceremony is co-chaired by the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas Judge Daniel Anders and Thomas E. Zemaitis, a partner at Pepper Hamilton LLP.

All members of the Bar are invited to attend the awards ceremony. To RSVP, contact Deborah Dailey, deputy prothonotary, First Judicial District of Pennsylvania, by e-mail at, or by fax at 215-567-7380, by Jan. 16.

# # #