1101 Market Street, 11th Floor • Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone: 215-238-6300 •

October 27, 2014

Bar to Elect Officers Board Members Dec. 9

The Philadelphia Bar Association's Annual Election of officers and members of the Board of Governors will be held on Tuesday, Dec. 9 from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. on the Ballroom Level of the Park Hyatt Philadelphia at the Bellevue, Broad and Walnut streets. Officers to be elected are vice chancellor, secretary, assistant secretary, treasurer, assistant treasurer and five members of the Board of Governors for three-year terms.

According to Article IV, Section 406, Paragraph B, "The election shall be by (1) secret mailed ballot and (2) paper ballot or voting machine. In addition, members may vote electronically over the Internet to the extent permitted by law pursuant to procedures established by the Board to preserve the confidentiality of the Member's vote and the integrity of the voting process. Voting machines, if available, shall be preferred for in-person voting, unless there is an election at which there is no contest. The position of the nominee on the ballot shall be determined by lot. The drawing of lots shall be conducted by the Judge of Elections not less than 25 days before the Annual Meeting in the presence of the nominees and/or their representatives. The form of the ballot shall be prescribed by the Board. A ballot shall be sent by the Association by mail to every Association member eligible to vote at least two weeks prior to the date set for the Annual Meeting. A mailed ballot shall not be counted unless it has been received at the office of the Association no later than 10 a.m. three business days prior to the date set for the Annual Meeting and in such manner as to preserve the confidentiality of the member's vote. The Judge of Elections shall count the mailed ballots after the polls have been closed."

Ballots will be mailed Thursday, Nov. 20, 2014 and are due by Thursday, Dec. 4, 2014, at 10 a.m.

Candidates for the 2014 Election are:

  • Vice Chancellor - Deborah R. Gross
  • Secretary - Jacqueline C. Segal
  • Treasurer - Wesley R. Payne IV
  • Assistant Secretary - Judge A. Michael Snyder (ret.)
  • Assistant Treasurer - Mary F. Platt

Board of Governors (elect five):

  • Maureen Farrell
  • Steve Harvey
  • Kathleen Kirkpatrick
  • Ira S. Lefton
  • Kevin Mincey
  • Jeffrey N. Rosenthal
  • Julia Swain
# # #